Finding the Artist in Me (Post #2)

I have dabbled a bit in Zentangle ® Inspired Art.  This year, I tried using gel pens on black paper just to see what would happen.  I was amazed at how different they turned out compared to my other projects.  They are waaaay more lovely in person as they just don’t translate well once copied online, but still – I enjoy what I am able to create, just starting out…

 

I’m curious…  What types of art do you dabble in?  How did you get your start and what did you do to improve?  I think all of us are inherently creative, even if we do not know it.  All I know is, I find great peacefulness during times of creation.  When I am stressed, if I just sit down and write a poem, take a photo, or draw, it just eases the strain.  I guess that’s why I keep trying.  I find it a wonderful activity that preserves that silence within our hearts in an ever-increasingly loud world.

 

I need to learn to get back to these artistic endeavors.  I got lost along the way and stopped using this as a mental break.  There is nothing like getting lost in the act of creating…

 

zen2

 

zen3

 

zen4

 

zen5

 

zen6

 

zen1

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. These are lovely. Most enjoyable! Thank you. I’ve seen this art before but never knew what it was called. I bet it really is a stress reducer too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Phyllis. I find it very relaxing. That’s why I got started. I sometimes have to wait a lot for the kids to get finished with things. I can’t get up and walk away or else they may get distracted 😉 This is a way for me to be there while also doing something for myself.

      Like

  2. leigha66 says:

    I wasn’t sure what you meant when you said Zentangle so I looked it up. I’m still not entirely sure what it is other than a meditation drawing technique. It sounds interesting that is for sure. These you have done are beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Actually, the way I think of it is making art through doodles. I know that some people say it is like meditation for them – and I do find it relaxing. The amazing thing though, is that I do not think of myself as an artist – but I can create really beautiful things with Zentangles. The other nice thing is that I am unusually busy. Creating a Zentangle is not like painting or other art projects. You can spend 10 minutes on it, put it away and start again when you have time. It is a wonderful way to ease stress. I found a lot of books online that help with learning patterns and that made it easier for me. Over time, I learned to do other things with it. I highly recommend it as a way to be less stressed Leigha, and it is not as expensive a hobby as others.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        An inexpensive hobby is hard to find. I will be looking into it more… I love to doodle.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          I will make a post for you today – to share a little more about it. Where I started… tips… etc. I hope it will help!

          Like

          1. leigha66 says:

            I will keep my eyes open for it!

            Like

  3. They’re beautiful 🌷

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Rose Elaine!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. joaquin48 says:

    My creativity expresses its self through my photography and my discovering process in writing.Which I did once a while, but now want to continue in to bring it up to another level.Sometimes I draw or paint.When my time is there I will share some of my drawings or paintings…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Oh I do hope you do share sometime. Yes, it is fabulous that there are so many ways to express ourselves. For me, I find it rather a peaceful process.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Henrietta Watson says:

    A very good post and nice pictures. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

