I Was Never Taught to Sing, a poem

TaughtToSing

 

I have found the line
I have found the rhyme
that makes this
utter nonsense
boil beneath my skin.
For I have learned,
it is no sin –
to breathe life
to the beauty that is me
to wander beneath
the traces left of summer sun
beneath the outstretched horizon
and sway as the wind caresses
the leaning grasses and bending trees.
My soul
is a love song
waiting to be sung
just as the sun
hovers over the horizon
pale blush tickling the edges
of grey dusted clouds
hiding the azure blue sky.
I stand there watching
the birth of beauty
and wonder why
I was never taught to sing.

(c) Sumyanna 2017

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Pixabay.com

8 Comments Add yours

    1. Sumyanna says:

      It is one of my new favorites as well 🙂

      Like

  1. joaquin48 says:

    Wauw, this poem gave me this inner smile in me…
    I truly can feel the words you have written flowing through me towards my inner sun..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad it did! Thank you 🙂

      Like

  2. Beautifully expressed! ❤️. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you ever so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A breathtaking pic to go with your beautiful poem. Though you haven’t been taught how to sing you do know how to mesmerize with your words. Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

