Gluten-Free Observations, a poem

FontCandy (7)

 

Some say I have it easy

I’ve learned a little

Self-control

And despite some

Accidental errors,

I have no desire

To purposely go there

No yearning, no broken resolve

I don’t exactly know why

It’s just the way I am

Stubborn, I think –

When I’ve made up my mind.

And most of the time,

It goes unnoticed,

But then I gladly visit a friend

At the local coffee shop.

She struggles, just like I

No more gluten in her diet

For the damage it causes

Is too much to bear,

But it’s not an easy task –

The resolve crumbles

As crumbs are silently lifted

From my chid’s plate

And pressed to her lips

In hopes that no one

Will notice.

 

© Sumyanna 2015

 

Delicious image courtesy of Pixabay.com  (sorry, I could not help myself :-))

Submitted for The Daily Post Prompt: control

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Interesting. I’m on a gluten free diet. And It is not easy. I can empathize. But the last four lines threw me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Yes – it definitely is not easy. I have an intolerance. I suffer all kinds of problems eating gluten so I stay away from it. My friend, however, actually has a condition where it causes her body to attack itself. I would find that scary.

      Like

Leave a Reply

