I Can Barely Rise, a poem

on

BarelyRise

 

Can you hear my cries, though distant?

I carry the shame of barbed wire fences

the sun’s heat rises from the dust

and I can barely rise.

 

What crime have I committed?

Why did I end up this way?

forlorn heart, broken dreams

and I can barely rise.

 

My world is burned to ashes

and so too are my dreams

among barbed wire fences, I search for hope

but there is none, it seems.

 

The world cages my optimism

and my misery cages my soul

among barbed wire fences, I search for hope

but there is none, it seems

for the world continues to ensure

that I can barely rise.

 

(c) Sumyanna 2016

 

 

Submitted for The Daily Post Prompt: none

Beautiful image courtesy of Pexels.com

8 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    A very powerful poem!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Leigha!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        You’re welcome!

        Like

  2. speak766 says:

    wow, very well written and so heartbreaking. keeping you in my thoughts and prayers

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much. It is not my story – but I was touched to hear what so many are going through right now in the world as a result of war. Living in a relatively safe area, I feel for people who don’t have the same peacefulness.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This poem is incredibly sad, Sumyanna.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Yes. I wrote it a while ago when I heard that the Syrians were unwelcome after fleeing war, only to be shot while trying to cross the border. I cannot imagine how hard it must be…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

