Daily Post Photography Challenge: The Dangers of Eating Without Looking

Just the other night, we were trying to figure out what we were going to eat.  My second oldest offered to cut up some cabbage to go with our meal while I helped my oldest with her computer programming assignment.  Not long after, I hear my second oldest yell for me to grab my microscope.  “You’re going to want to see this!” she shouted.

 

I’m not one to argue.  I took out the microscope only to find that we had a visitor.  I stand corrected, we had a visitor all week that we only now noticed.  Inside the cabbage was a caterpillar, eating away.  He was so tiny and colored the exact hue of the cabbage that he could easily have been missed.  The thought of that makes me feel two things (1) I would feel bad for the little guy and (2) Uh, I ate what?!?  So yes, we found the dangers of not looking closely this week and came close to eating more than we intended.  So grateful that my daughter has young eyes that see everything!

 

So here are the photos of our (almost) dinner this week…

 

WIN_20170505_18_46_11_Pro (2)This was where we found him, curled up and eating.

 

We then took him out and he walked around for a bit, only to return to his little hole to munch some more.  We ended up taking him outside, where he will hopefully find plenty more to eat.  I don’t want to have to worry about my next meal…

WIN_20170505_18_51_42_Pro (2)

 

WIN_20170505_18_53_58_Pro (2)

 

WIN_20170505_18_55_08_Pro (2)

 

WIN_20170505_18_55_09_Pro (2)

 

WIN_20170505_18_58_59_Pro (2)

 

WIN_20170505_18_59_07_Pro (2)

 

Submitted for The Daily Post Photography Challenge: danger

 

Other fabulous posts for this challenge:

Spirit of Dragonflies

Subhash Chattergi’s World

This is Another Story

Aditi Universe

 

13 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    Icky! But great photos!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I know exactly what you mean. I was balancing on the edge of being grossed out and being intrigued 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Exactly 🙂

      Like

  2. L.E. Hunt says:

    The photos are beautiful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. OMG I would have lost my appetite. I shall be a little more careful in the future, especially with the vegetables and fruit. When I was little my sister opened a banana and had a surprise – a banana bug of some sort survived his long trip. Love those young inquisitive eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      You are definitely not alone 🙂 It was surely a surprise. I remember being overseas and cutting open a fresh fruit from the tree that had worms in it. Not a pleasant experience! Thank goodness I did not bite into it. Yes, I do love those eyes as well. They keep me on my toes!

      Like

  4. margaret21 says:

    That’s like the old joke: Q ‘What’s worse than finding a maggot in your apple?’ A ‘Finding half a maggot in your apple’.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      You’re not kidding! So glad she has keen eyes 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. OMG! Perhaps I should be glad I probably would never even see it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      🙂 So true… but would hate to ask myself what those specks were on the side of a leaf. A teachable moment, though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

