Photography: Finally Absorbed in Nature’s Beauty (Part One)

Well, it took an eighth grade graduation to get me outdoors!  We drove to another city for the graduation and later, a trip to the zoo for a school end of year field trip.  The kids had a great time, finally getting a chance to play with their friends who come from all over the state.  My oldest daughter and I brought our cameras and took the chance to take pictures.  My camera seems a bit unfamiliar right now, or at least – some of the pictures just didn’t turn out as planned but I was incredibly happy just to get outside for once so I am not complaining!

 

We drove up to the mountains.  Oh, we are so fortunate to live in such a beautiful state.  I hope we never have to leave Colorado… unless, perhaps, I get a chance to move to California and live by the ocean.  Then, I might be willing 🙂

 

This was our beautiful view on the drive:IMG_7440 (2)

 

IMG_7439 (2)

 

Yes, I know people will think I am crazy… I go to a zoo and instead of looking at the animals (I did peek a few times) I was looking at the trees and flowers.  I love taking pictures of animals, but prefer them in the wild.  I can’t bear to take pictures of an animal behind bars.  They often have so little room to move about and often you do notice a sad look in their eyes.

 

To me, it seems like celebrating their captivity, if that makes sense.  Mind you, there are a lot of animals we would not know about if they were not available to zoos.  Still others are losing their habitat on a daily basis.  Others are endangered and this is the only place they are being kept alive.  I just wish they had something more familiar to them in the form of habitat and at least more space to live in.  Zoos are often cramped inside cities and cannot grow much larger.  The animals pay the price, I think.  I can’t help but feel bad for them.

 

So while everyone else was wondering what we were doing… we were poised over dandelions, hovering over flowers, or staring into the boughs of trees.  Ahhh, can I say I have been revived a little bit by being outdoors?  I can’t wait for school to end so that we can start going to the gardens more regularly.  I am even thinking of running off with the two little ones in tow as the other two do schoolwork, but I know I would feel guilty.  Perhaps we will just have a little romp around the neighborhood…  No matter, spring… I am ready!

 

IMG_7331 (2)

 

IMG_7333 (2)

 

IMG_7367 (2)

 

IMG_7455 (2)

 

IMG_7435 (2)

 

IMG_7375 (2)

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Lovely photographs, Sumyanna. We are fortunate as there are a number of national parks here in South Africa where we can see animals in their natural habitat. I also find zoos sad.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much. You are right Robbie. Fortunately, you do have places like that. Here, we are in cramped cities and the zoos are often in the middle of everything with little choice for expansion.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. leigha66 says:

    So many beautiful things happening in nature… great photos!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So true. I am so glad I look now. Before I would have walked past most of it…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. cynthiahm says:

    Lovely photos!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Like

      1. cynthiahm says:

        You’re welcome.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. PS I agree regarding the Zoo 😟

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Fantastic photos 🌹

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Rose Elaine!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

