Photography: Reflecting Beauty Back at Itself

on

I have always been entranced by reflections, but even moreso since taking up photography.  I now notice it, not only in the familiar places across the edge of a pond, but also in places least expected like parking lots after a spring rain or after an early snowfall melts away.  I am truly amazed at how photography opens my eyes to the potential of beauty in all things.  It is not to say I would want to photograph all things, but photography allows my eyes to be keen where beauty once wasn’t seen.

 

I think there is a benefit in that, way beyond photography itself.  Even though I love to share my photos, I feel more blessed to have a more open-minded view.  I think it helps to see beauty in these things because truly, there are such miracles around us each and every day and we step around them, hide away from them, or grumble about their presence.  And if you know me well enough, yes – I do grumble about the length and cold of winter, but truly even I can see her beauty well enough.  I just think I would love it all the more if only I could get out in it and enjoy it for all its worth, but (for now) my family prefers to be huddled beneath blankets complaining about the cold.  🙂

 

Either way, I do hope you enjoy my reflections…

 

Reflection

 

Reflection2

 

Reflection3

 

Reflection4

 

Reflection5

 

Submitted for The Daily Post Photo Challenge: Reflecting

 

19 Comments Add yours

  1. I loved your reflections photographs, Sumyanna. The two poems are also lovely and compliment the photographs very well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Robbie. So glad you like them 🙂

      Like

  2. Very beautiful and refreshing. It opens your eyes on the beautiful reflections of unexpected ordinary places. Thank you for sharing these photographs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad you liked the photos.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Really nice! I especially like the one with the house.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thanks. That was on our walk to the supermarket. It was an early snow and by the time we went back home it had melted. I find it so interesting to see things differently like that… so glad I spotted it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m glad you spotted it, too!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          🙂 Thank you!

          Like

  4. Tom Schultz says:

    I, too, find that the value of photography is finding a new way of seeing, especially to see beauty in what formerly appeared ordinary.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So true. It is amazing, isn’t it? I also find it incredibly wonderful to share parts of the places we visit with others. It gives a new perspective on things as well, realizing that not all things are the same. You have an incredibly beautiful view where you are!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Such beautiful photos Sumyanna! I too love reflections!!!!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I think reflections were my first favorite photographs. There’s just something about seeing something that comes from somewhere else. Looking at its beauty and knowing the place it is now is all the more beautiful for its reflection 🙂

      Like

      1. I absolutely agree! There’s something very uniquely special about reflections. It is like receiving a double whammy of delight.

        Like

          1. Always enjoy your visits Sumyanna! very much

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Sumyanna says:

            So glad to hear that. So do I!

            Like

  6. alexankarr1 says:

    Those waterlogged branches are gorgeous.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

