Photography: Celebrating the Silent Passengers in My Own Backyard #1

We don’t have much of a back yard.  I do regret that, but unfortunately our property just doesn’t warrant more than that.  My dream has always been to start a garden, have trees, and spend as much time as I can outdoors in my own yard.  It makes it hard then, when you marry someone who just doesn’t “do” gardening.  He hates outdoor chores more than anything.  And if (for some reason) I can’t do the gardening, he knows it would be left up to him.  “A garden?” he says, “Um, no.  I’m okay.”  He knows it would be a lot to take on.

 

I cannot completely disagree with him in that I am already incredibly busy, but I cannot help but imagine myself stealing away to a tree in the backyard and resting beneath its shade while reading or even writing.  I imagine all the birds flying into our yard and gracing our tree’s branches.  I would adore the opportunity to pick vegetables fresh from the garden and adding them to our meals.  I tell myself, someday and I do hope that I can keep that promise.  But oh, the dream!

 

Instead, I find my fill by visiting the Botanic Gardens in our city.  There, I can walk among the flowers as long as I dare to dream.  I promise myself I can write, but when I am there I just want to absorb everything and take back memories in the form of photographs.

 

Since taking up photography, however, I have looked closer to home for inspiration.  I have noticed things I have so often overlooked.  For example, I walk past the bush near the front of the house and only notice if it needs trimming.  In the past, I did not examine its leaves, watch its buds emerge, or witness the moving in of aphids, ants, birds, and bees.  It was all lost to me until I decided to take pictures.

 

So today, I will share with you some of the beauty from my own back yard.  Though humble, it tells a story.  We not only have a beautiful cat that visits us daily (I believe she was abandoned and all the people in the neighborhood help to take care of her).  We also have a wonderful squirrel whom we have named Martin who visits often throughout our day.  We will often find ourselves feeling like we are being watched and he is in the neighbor’s tree that overlooks our school room window.  Perhaps he is perched on the backyard fence monitoring our movements.  He has a wife (according to my children) named Rose and a son named “Matias.”  They visit from time to time as well, but Martin has pretty much declared our backyard his territory.  I cannot count the numerous birds that visit our neighbors bird feeder.  They often sit on top of our backyard fence and watch us go about our day.  Besides all that I wish I had – what I do not have, I am truly blessed…

 

IMG_6723 (2)

 

The way that we know it is Martin and not another squirrel is that he always raises his paw to his chest if he sees us.  Here, he is standing – but he even does it when he is on all fours (with the exception of the raised paw) 🙂  Perhaps it is just his begging stance, but I like to think it is because he is a gentleman.

IMG_7107 (2)

 

 

IMG_6778 (2)

 

IMG_6853 (2)

 

IMG_6860 (2)

 

IMG_7172 (2)

 

IMG_7300 (2)

12 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    Wonderful photos… I love that your family has named the squirrels – maybe you could make a family project of a story about Martin and his wife and kid. LOL Enjoy your little piece of nature!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Leigha. Due to your comments, I actually added a little story to my latest post. I hope you enjoy it! We have often thought about that. In fact, the kids as school assignments have already written stories about his antics. It would be fun 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        You’re welcome. I look forward to reading it!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. What spectacular pictures, Sumyanna! Wow they do tell a story. Your insight and care and love go along with it. Brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Phyllis. Life just isn’t always what we hope… but we have to find beauty in what we have. My backyard is simple, but it does hold a story that I cherish very much. Thank you!

      Like

      1. You are so welcome. I was personally touched when you shared this because it is part of you and your family. And who you are.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Yes, it truly is a daily part of our lives. We look out onto the backyard from the school room, and as people who can get “easily distracted” 🙂 we see him coming and going. Sometimes they chase each other around. There is a peacefulness to still having some sort of nature surrounding you, even if it is only between backyard fences. If I had my way, I would be out in nature every day – but here it is a drive up to the mountains. I would love to live near the sea or some form of water or high up in the mountains somewhere, surrounded by trees.

          Like

  3. Such lovely photographs, Sumyanna. You are so lucky to have a squirrel visitor, he is so cute.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Robbie. We have three, but he is the one that stands out the most and he seems to “claim” our backyard as his own even at the expense of his lady friend 🙂 He is adorable though.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pete Hillman says:

    Great images, Sumyanna! It is amazing and so rewarding when we actually stop and look a little closer into nature and the world about us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you – coming form you, that is a huge compliment. Your photography is out of this world! I have so come to appreciate the world more since picking up the camera. I can see beauty in places I never realized. It is truly a blessing and I know as a photographer you know exactly what I mean 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

