Having Fun with Spam

spam

 

Today as I sit here on my computer, I am surprised to find out that a donation has been made in my name.  This act of kindness just touches my heart.  It’s not every day I get such amazing messages in my spam folder.  Most days, it is for coupons I don’t really want or specials from stores that force me to sign up for their emails.  I later regret the decision and wish I could just sandblast those emails every time they touch my inbox.  Instead, they sit there taunting me.

 

Sadly enough, Gmail won’t let me see the message.  Somehow, it seems there is something out of place with this notice, so sadly I must delete it.  Just when it made my day to think someone had thought of me.  Oh, the joys of online life – never certain whether you exist or whether you are a quiet voice inside a storm.  Once again, an opportunity slowly vanishes into dust.

 

Not much later, I receive a notice for a part time job offer.  Not bad, I think.  It’s not that I’ve been looking for a job or that I need one, but someone thought of me today!  Dr. Xu from Gongdong Medical Technology Co. assured me it was legitimate.  It sounds rather official.  I’m ready to pack my bags, but then I look a little further and see that they require a financial representative.  Um, I did not graduate from college, unfortunately.  While I enjoyed my time at the University until I actually had to stop and pay the bills, I double-majored in English and Psychology.  Are they sure they want me?  I’m not so certain I am a good fit.

 

I would send an email back to them, asking if they are sure they want my skills specifically, but then I think to myself… who will wash the dishes and cook for my family?  How could I possibly handle living so far away?  While the thought of all those chores being missed is enticing, I think some small part of me would miss them.  No, silly – not the chores, my family 🙂

 

So I delete all the spam messages and call it a day.  They are now tucked away carefully somewhere in cyberspace – at least until a few more gather in my spam folder tomorrow.  Feeling that at least for one minute I entertained my importance, I grab the coupon offer in my spam inbox for $1 off of yogurt from Natural Grocers and head out the door to celebrate.

 

(c) Sumyanna 2017

 

Image courtesy of Pixabay.com

10 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    I love this! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      It was fun to write. I was in a rather naughty mood that day – or at least silly. Sometimes, it is good to be that way 🙂

      Like

  2. Grace under fire! I hate spam! I want to pound my keys into oblivion deleting them and I’ve had so many lately, serious scams relating to banking. argh! Yes, you are grace under fire!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      You are not alone 🙂 It drives me crazy. Right after I posted that poem I had another one come in promising to deposit money into my bank account. Um, sorry – I’m just not that gullible!

      Like

      1. Yep me too. So far they’ve all suggested there’s something wrong with my bank account…3 of which I dont even have accounts with, but the funniest one was “Shaw” …that’s the company my son works for…internet cable phone, etc…saying there was something wrong with my account….LMAO I don’t have a Shaw Account, my daughter and son do hahaha so the numbers they came up with were hilariously funny on all counts. Having said that, someone managed to get my daughter’s personal info and stole her credit card and racked up 7 grand. it was the CREDIT CARD COMPANY ITSELF that gave out the information, OMG It was a “fisching” thing and they just willy nilly gave out her info, upped the limit and this person bought his way into a fortune. It’s insane and now SHE has to pay! not the sum, but the costs associated with it, which is completely unfair. I told her to get a lawyer… fight this.. it was THEIR negligence and had nothing to do with her at all! argh it makes me angry.

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Wow – people are just in it to take advantage. I hate that. You would think if they has skill enough to rip off people’s money they would use that skill for better things. I do hope it gets sorted out though. It would be a shame if she had to pay it. I’m angry too!

          Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you! I guess I was in that kind of mood 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. My favorite part was seeing someone else, other than me, took English and Psychology as majors. Nicely done!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Yep, you are not alone 🙂 My parents kept begging me to do something other than English. You’ll never get a job! I guess it was my way of compromising.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

