I lost myself, a poem

on

night (2)

 
I lost myself
on the shores
of California
sank my feet
beneath her sands
and contemplated
the rippling image
of moonlight
across each crest of waves.
I sung along
with the undying heartbeat
of their rolling passage
to foreign shores.
I lost myself
near the shores
of Johnson creek
where the walking bridge
is draped in moonlight
and the sound
of frogs and crickets
sing a soft serenade
to the stars.
There, I walk in silence
and bask in the glow
of a thousand stars
contemplating the peace
within my heart
at these moments,
swept away
by water’s gentle trickle
or her falling crescendo
upon silent rocks and sands
I feel her gentle hum
strum away
at my heartstrings
I am swept…
I am swept away
by her beauty still
if only, in remembrance.

© Sumyanna 2017

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Pixabay.com

16 Comments Add yours

  1. eddaz says:

    This is beautiful. I could actually picture the whole scene from your post👌

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much – I appreciate that!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. eddaz says:

        My pleasure 😊

        Like

  2. leigha66 says:

    Such wonderful imagery!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much Leigha!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        You’re welcome Sumyanna!

        Like

  3. Reblogged this on Covert Novelist and commented:
    Beautiful and so descriptive. I felt the waves and the sand and heard the sounds.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Alanna says:

    Lovely words.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you ever so much!

      Like

  5. waywarddame says:

    I love this! Especially the last few lines: “I am swept…I am swept away by her beauty still if only, in remembrance.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so much for sharing!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

