Seeking Understanding, a poem

on

woman (2)

 

I wonder
if they are looking
can they see me here
. . . alone?
do they see my scars
hidden deep
or do they only see
this cage of skin and bones
for many cannot see
many cannot see
the tears
the pain
of others’ lives
they look away
they look right past you
and you are swept out
with the tide
adrift
alone
like the sands
swept under
and you find yourself
seeking
someone to understand
I wonder
if they are looking
can they see me here
. . . alone?
do they see my scars
hidden deep
or do they only see
this cage of skin and bones.

(c) Sumyanna 2016

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Pixabay.com

Post submitted for The Daily Post Prompt: adrift

14 Comments Add yours

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you for sharing!

      Like

  1. Voo Voo says:

    incredible write and image. love your blog, Voo

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Oh sweet Voo! How are you? So excited to see you here and I truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts. I do hope you have a blog someday as I would seriously be honored to follow you. Either way, I know where you are šŸ™‚

      Like

  2. joaquin48 says:

    Stunning poem and I could feel the message in it..

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much. So glad you liked it!

      Like

  3. Sadly this is true, Sumyanna. A lot of people don’t look beyond the exterior to find the real person inside.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Yes, it definitely is.

      Like

  4. Beautiful…. šŸ‘šŸ‘šŸ‘ I’m going through a writers block… just don’t feel motivated to write… waiting for it to pass… feeling lost actually

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      For me, the best way to get things started is to work on writing prompts. I usually try to find an image that speaks to me, or even words or sentences. I have purchased several writer’s prompt books (most of them for fiction writing) but I use them instead for poetry. Keep at it, or perhaps enjoy the silence – get out and breathe in a scene. It always seems to help me clear my mind. I am sure you will find your words soon šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Not many people can see the beauty within another šŸŒ¹

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Sad but true. I truly think we are not taught to try hard enough to understand the people around us. We mainly are taught to think of ourselves.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. And that is why we live in such a selfish world šŸ™

        Like

Leave a Reply

