Sometimes Sorrow Skips Across the Horizon, a poem

on
Darksky (3)
The words withered away today
long, heartfelt pauses stroked against my thoughts
it was a combination, of not wanting to feel and feeling too much
and I drunk in the darkness of obsolescence.
My eyes could not conjure fairy tales from cotton candy clouds
instead, my heart was lost in the recesses of graying clouds against the landscape.
It was heavy, this load I begged to carry, or perhaps it begged to carry me through.
My bones ached, my legs were bent and my song refused to carry a tune
but fortunately, it is not always like this – for often my eyes are willing to see
the glory of a rising sun, perfectly brushed in soothing hues
I can hear the wind dance across the boughs of trees, shaking newly grown leaves
I listen to their dance as well as the looming stretch of summer rains across the horizon
soon, they shall come – tickling across the windowpane, playing their soothing refrain
lulling my heart away from its melancholy view.

© Sumyanna 2017

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Fabrice d'Mont says:

    Sumyanna your poetry never fails my expectations for once.
    This is so awesome and heart-touching. just wow…

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Wow – thank you so much for your beautiful compliment. It really means a lot!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. leigha66 says:

    This is very well written… and an amazing photo!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much. I am so enjoying writing “fourteen line” poems as I feel they alter my normal style of writing and require me to grow a little. It has a different taste than my other poems, I think…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        You’re most welcome!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much for sharing!

      Like

  3. A beautifully expressive poem, Sumyanna. Quite delightful that it ends on such an uplifting note.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I was feeling down in the dumps that day. The sky was truly gray… Fortunately, I always remember the beautiful days and know they will be coming soon 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

