Growing Old, When Beauty Dies

on

beautydies (2)

 
The ache is near before the start
each day etched upon new skin
do we linger in the mountain air
do we unsheathe our petaled fare
or do we shudder beneath our sin.
When breaths draw loosely
and fainted lid does despair
will we clothe ourselves in regret
or shall we leave without a care.
Time ticks, the endless heartbeat
and we have come undone
draw my veil gently across my face
for growing old has left its trace
and the rest of my days
I shall unweave what I have spun.

(c) Sumyanna 2017

 

Submitted for The Daily Post Prompt: trace

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Pixabay.com

15 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    Wonderful poem!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Leigha!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        You’re welcome.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. 7128788elf says:

    Does beauty die, certainly one changes and ones outer beauty slowly recedes, but I think we spend to much effort and time worrying out outer beauty, and not enough time building and growing our inner beauty, and the beauty of our environment, and the society that inhabits that tattered beauty. I am sure that you are one of those rear and beautiful souls that grow and shear with the world.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I think it always lives on in our memories and any beauty that may exist… touches others in ways that keep bringing beauty to life. There are beauty in so many places that we have yet discovered. I truly find it amazing when I can capture just a little bit of it… either by photos or poetry. Hopefully it touches someone else and inspires them to go on and find their own as well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 7128788elf says:

        Yes I hope so, it seems that as a society we have come to believe and follow a very surface and shallow ideal of beauty, which stops us enjoying many forms of beauty, and having idealised forms of beauty. This trend towards the cult of youthful looks seems to be one of the very destructive ideas that has grown along with this. How many people actually see and enjoy the great beauty of nature any more. Many comments on my poetry, ask how to get closer to nature; to which I answered start to walk in it, try and see as much of it and take it in as possible. They mostly admitted they have never walked in nature!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          I really never thought that there were people who did not get out into nature. Growing up, we lived in the mountains, it was hard to escape. Beauty was everywhere. But I had never taken even a hike or a walk other than around home. I only started when I got married. Since then, I’ve been hooked. I do hope more see the joys of getting outdoors. Seriously, we have been to many places and all of them have their parks for hiking and walking. Many of them are beautiful.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. 7128788elf says:

            Yes, it is the same here, but there are so many people that live in cities who have never interacted with nature, and are afraid to go out into nature. I try to walk in nature and see the big and the small things, and love them all.

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much.

      Like

  3. Don’t like that photo, gives me the shivers, I once went past a florist shop and they had some black roses they made me shiver too, great post though 🌹

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I know what you mean, seems almost unnatural 🙂 Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is beautiful. Probably true beauty does not grow old. Can I share this?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I do believe so. Thank you! Yes, I would be honored if you did 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

