A Hero’s Return from War, a poem

hero (2)

 

Some think we wore the clothes of a hero

Worn boots that marched to the tunes of war

And there were times I thought

I’d never see your face again

Never hold you in my arms

And there was nothing more

That I could ever hope for –

To see your face

To see your smile

And I am home.

Now, I am home –

And though I know my surroundings

I don’t recognize myself within these walls

I am like a stranger in my own home

My children have grown without my presence

I am a shadow of the man I used to be

My existence has been whispered

to the children in my absence

At night as if in dreams.

Where is papa? Where is papa?

They would whisper

And you would answer back,

He is out there somewhere

Saving the world

And some day, he will return.

He is a brave soldier,

wearing hero’s clothes…

And now – I am home,

The uniform can be peeled away

But underneath, you cannot erase

All that I have seen

All that I have known

And all that I have done

I am like a stranger in my own home now

And I am a stranger in my own skin

But smile, despite the pain I carry

For I am home.

 

(c) Sumyanna 2016

 

Submitted for The Daily Post Prompt: uniform

Image courtesy of Pixabay.com

9 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    So much emotion in this… great writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Leigha! Hope you are having a beautiful day today 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        You’re welcome… and thank you, you too!

        Like

  2. That was so very moving. And the image brought home to me that it’s universal. All soldiers, all armies, all families. You opened my mind.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much. I think war is difficult for all.

      Like

  3. You have captured this exceptionally well, Sumyanna. Outstanding poem!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad you liked it Robbie. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. L.E. Hunt says:

    You capture the emotions very well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

