Learning to Find Value Within

Butterfly (2)
Look outside yourself at the beauty that surrounds you, but never look outside of yourself for confirmation of your own value.  At caterpillar does no look at itself and find itself lacking because it cannot fly.  It lives and breathes its own kind of beauty – stretching forth and existing as only it can.  A butterfly does not look at a caterpillar and find itself lacking because it cannot crawl upon the ground.  They cannot be compared, nor can their own individual beauty be ignored by open eye.

I have found more value – in the silence and I have learned to find value within my own heart, for I know I am willing to see more than most are willing to admit.  It is okay to be different – to be fueled by dreams and to love every waking moment, even when things are not easy.  It is okay that despite the despair and shouting that surrounds me, I choose to find ways to celebrate what is good and upright.  I will not apologize for being me – for how else can you see me fly if I am not willing to show my wings?

(c) Sumyanna 2016

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Really lovely thoughts, Sumyanna.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much Robbie!

      Like

  2. Pete Hillman says:

    Beautifully visualised and worded, Sumyanna!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Pete!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautifully expressed! ❤️. : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

