Photography: Visiting the Butterflies but Taking Pictures of Flowers (Part #1)

on

So we finally went to the Butterfly Pavilion.  I guess it is the amateur photographer in me that did not realize just how dark it was there to take photographs.  I had been to the pavilion, but that was approximately 15 years ago and it was way before I took up the camera.  We’ve been to other butterfly sanctuaries that were more well lit, but here they had beautiful trellises of flowers and huge plants and trees reaching to the ceiling.

 

So yeah, I went to take pictures of butterflies but most of them did not turn out at all.  Instead, the flower photos came out much nicer.  When I compare my photographs with those of my daughter, it can’t help but make me think.  She is paired well with her camera.  She loves, loves, loves to take photos of images up-close.  It does not matter if it is a snail, an ant, or a butterfly.  Her photo takes the perfect images that represents what she loves.  As for me, flowers seem to be my thing although I am also found traipsing through blades of grass, peering through the leaves of trees, or staring at the passing clouds reflected in a pond.  It is just how I translate what I love.

 

So, despite the fact that I was disappointed that most of the butterfly photos did not turn out well, I think a lot of it has to do with what my camera and I do well…  Instead of reaching toward something that just does not translate, I shall celebrate what does and yes, I will still try 🙂  So here are a few of the photos from our visit, I do hope you enjoy them!

 

IMG_0656 (2)

 

IMG_0673 (2)

 

IMG_0679 (2)

 

IMG_0747 (2)

 

IMG_0844 (2)

 

After visiting the butterflies, we went out back after business hours to a garden in the back.  There, we seriously saw at least 10 of these adorable creatures!

IMG_0938 (2)

 

I could seriously lose myself in this reflection!

IMG_0941 (2)

 

 

This little one was waiting for us as we left the gardens.  He/she actually does not have a funky haircut, but instead the wind was blowing just at that moment 🙂

IMG_0948 (2)

16 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    You got some amazing shots here. …I love the robin’s funky hair-do! LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thanks. Yes, the wind blew at just the right moment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        You’re welcome.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. WOW they are brilliant photographs and your site looks stunning, really professional x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you 🙂 I think you mean the photos on the top? I changed them… well, I usually change them every week but I really love those flowers! Thank you. I do hope you are doing well. Sending bunches of hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. BEAUTIFUL! I especially love the third one down! So pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Reblogged this on ravenhawks' magazine and commented:
    Thank you for sharing, beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Like

  5. Pete Hillman says:

    What a wonderful st of images, Sumyanna! How very beautiful. Nature in such varied glory! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you. It is a beautiful place… if only my camera could translate that all the time 🙂 It does a pretty good job though, so I won’t say differently. It was just sad that they had it so dark in there. The butterflies were beyond gorgeous!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. That one butterfly actually posed for you! He did everything but smile! I don’t think it gets better the that! Love your flowers too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Seriously… I have many more of that guy just sitting there, staring at me 🙂 I completely agree. Thank you!

      Like

  7. [ Smiles ] Now, that is a great collection of pictures. I love the ones with the butterflies!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much. I wish I had more of them turn out, but I’m glad for the ones that did! Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. [ Smiles ] You are welcome!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

