Photography: Visiting the Butterflies, but Taking Pictures of the Flowers (Part #3)

on

So again I am looking through the folder of pictures from our trip to the Butterfly Pavilion.  Oddly enough… I seem to have more butterfly pictures to share.  I guess it is the sheer amount of pictures that I took that did not come out that phased me at first, but here I am… promising to share photographs of flowers but I keep tripping over photos of butterflies!  I guess it is all in our perspective.  I need to keep reminding myself of that.

 

We were going to go to the gardens today, but at the last minute changed our plans.  Of course, I do plan to make it up to my camera and perhaps we will get out a bit tomorrow if we get enough accomplished today.  I’m working on fixing the shelves in the basement, but before I can even do that… I have to get everything out of there.  And if there is anything that can put a spring in your step, I am certain it must be working in a dark basement closet all day 🙂  Oh well, you win some and you lose some!  On to the pictures!

 

IMG_0490 (2)

Okay, so I know I told you we went to the Butterfly Pavilion.  I know you must be wondering if I am losing my communication skills.  It’s true – I actually found this guy there!  Before entering the actual butterfly area, they have rooms you can go around where they have insects, spiders, and yes – they have a room with some sea creatures!  I have no idea why, but you won’t hear me complain.  This octopus was simply amazing to watch swimming across his huge tank.  He did not like his picture being taken either, so this is one lucky shot!

 

IMG_0509 (2)

 

IMG_0568 (2)

 

IMG_0677 (2)

 

IMG_0757 (2)

 

IMG_0847 (2)

 

IMG_0896 (2)

 

IMG_0904 (2)

I know the focus wasn’t on the dandelion, but somehow seeing the grasses clearly while still seeing the dandelion seemed enticing 🙂

11 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    Beautiful! I love the octopus!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you – yes, he was amazing to watch!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        You’re welcome.

        Like

  2. Wow, you do take fantastic photos, truly beautiful .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad you liked them!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. More often than not my plans for any given day don’t work out. Vague, ‘I need to clean the house’, sorts of plans are abandoned at the drop of a hat, or the call of a sandhill crane out back on the lake. Your butterflies are beautiful, and the octopus is, um, creepy but fascinating.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Oh, the many ways we can entertain ourselves when cleaning duty calls 🙂 I know what you mean though. We have blue jays that visit and they often call out to warn other birds to go away. When we hear them, we all run toward our cameras 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hear cardinals here. It used to be easy to spot them in the trees but even though the trees here in FL don’t go bare in the winter the leaves must be thicker because I can hardly ever see them. There are bluejays here too, but all I ever see is it fly through my field of vision and get lost in the trees. Maybe one day…

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Our neighbor has a bird feeder full of peanuts. They seriously steal each and every one when he fills it. The leader squawks to let all the other birds know to stay away and at least six of them come swooping down to get a nut and take it to their nest. It’s pretty amazing to watch. The seemingly little guy has a pretty big voice 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I’m aware that they are called pests, so now I know why. But so pretty.

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

