Photography: Take a Walk (Post #3)

on

With things being busy around the house and the weather a bit warmer than usual, we have not spent as much time on the trails yet… but we are counting the days.  My husband has been especially busy with work as well, but if we are longing for it… it will happen soon enough.  I can’t wait either as there is so much adventure in going hiking or even walking along a path.  You never know the people you will meet, what types of birds or trees, it is just an amazing experience and each one is different.

 

So these images are from our first walk when we went to visit the gardens, but things didn’t turn out as planned.  Instead, we walked along an 11 mile path (not in its entirety!) that followed the water.  It was peaceful and quite, with only a few souls walking along enjoying the view.  Shade was pretty abundant, which is a rarity here, except in the mountains.  We have full open skies, with little shade on most hikes in the prairie.  It was a nice walk and I look forward to doing it again.  I know I’ve said it before, but our plans changed – we are hoping to go to the actual gardens this week.  The kids and I will pack a lunch and all of our cameras and drawing implements and brave all that beauty!

 

I hope you enjoy taking a walk with me, and I can’t wait to see where our travels will bring us next!

 

There is something about this image that haunts me in its beauty.

IMG_9369 (2)

 

IMG_9395 (2)

 

IMG_9417 (2)

 

As we were walking and taking pictures, we found something we had never seen before.  We were not sure what it was, but a fellow photographer (this time without his camera) told us it was a beaver.  Way at the end of the hike there is a beaver dam, but in all the years he had been coming to the path, he has never been able to take a photo.  This one was equally not interested in having his photo taken, so I could only show you his quick retreat…

IMG_9431 (2)

 

This guy scared the heck out of me.  I was walking across the grass to get to the other path when I seemingly scared him too.  He jumped out of my way, but then happily sat there while I took photographs.

IMG_9441 (2)

 

IMG_9488 (2)

 

IMG_9535 (2)

 

IMG_9545 (2)

16 Comments Add yours

  1. stbarbebaker says:

    You have a wonderful eye, thanks for the virtual walk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you for that! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      Like

  2. Soul Gifts says:

    You’re right, there is something special about that first photo 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful. Even I should go for a walk like this. Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Oh, it is medicine for the heart, I tell you! I seriously recommend it. Any path will do 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. lengesinski says:

    Beautiful Pics!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you for sharing. I still yearn to go back there, to see how much more it has grown in beauty. Hopefully next week!

      Like

  5. I love your walks, and am completely enthralled. Thank you so much Sumyanna 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Phyllis. I know that not everyone has similar surroundings, so I always hope to share. I love seeing where others live as well, it is that curiosity that dwells in me! So glad you enjoyed this.

      Like

      1. Words fail me 🙂 So beautiful, your words and thoughts and shares.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

