Under a Wistful Moon, a poem

I was tasked to write another fourteen line poem, but this time with a catch.  You cannot use the letter ‘e’ in the poem at all.  While I was writing, I could not help but wonder how I got into this mess… but after reading the poem upon completion, I have to say I’m glad I tried 🙂

 

Under a Wistful Moon

wistfulmoon

 

Wistful moon,
look down upon your fragrant shadows
in dazzling visions that tango
across our moonlit plains
rows of silky, sloping stalks
tilt longingly in oncoming winds
dipping and soaring, as if in a stupor,
drinking in a fountain of light
from a thousand distant stars.
I watch, without a sound,
and a soothing song stirs within my soul
I allow its hymn to touch my lips
and slowly drip against rays of moonlight
I sing, grass sways, and a tranquil moon looks on.

 

© Sumyanna 2017

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Pixabay.com

24 Comments Add yours

  1. I like “fragrant shadows”, has a kinda synesthesia effect – great poem!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Like

  2. Love this line: “and a soothing song stirs within my soul” 😊

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you 🙂 Sometimes the words just jump out on the page. Not complaining at all 🙂

      Like

  3. Exquisite poem. I love the occasional alliteration: “silky, sloping stalks”. Stunning! 🙂

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much! I think they slip in there somehow. I like when that happens!

      Like

  4. stbarbebaker says:

    What a task to accomplish, You did outstanding!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Like

  5. leigha66 says:

    That one little letter is used a lot in writing, but you met the challenge beautifully!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I was surprised I could do it. Every time I tried to write “the” kept popping up 🙂 Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        You’re welcome Sumyanna.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad you enjoyed it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Amazingly talented! ❤️. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. This poem is full of beautiful imagery, Sumyanna.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Robbie. I hope your family is feeling better. Sending my best wishes!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you, Sumyanna. Everyone is feeling much better now.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          So glad to hear that. 🙂

          Like

  8. Stacey Lynn says:

    Wow, very impressive! Who knew that a little rule like leaving out an “e” could have such major implications. I’m glad you wrote it too 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I know! I would never have guessed it either. I tried a few attempts, but was unsuccessful by I kept trying. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

