Portraits Poetry Series #62: Saying Goodbye

In case you haven’t been here before, I love writing prompts – whether a list of words, one word, or even an image.  With these posts, I have written poems specifically about paintings and I hope, with my words, you see the scene just as visibly in your heart and mind as if you had seen the image itself.

 

Portraits Series

 

Fall has cast her shadow on us already
The day’s gentle creep into the chill of winter
It is slow but certain
And you can feel winter’s footsteps
Padding near the garden gates.
My heart is weighted now,
Filled with longing
For warmer days
And the sky sighs heavily
At morning light
Carrying the weight
Of hazy shades of gray
As azure bleeds near the horizon
And I lay here thinking of you.
I see the waving fields of grain
The warm breeze leaves them restless
And I remember the days we stopped here
Courting much longer past a summer’s romance
You held my hands
You held my gaze
And we wondered here
What we meant
What we started
Who we would become
I remember your kiss
Behind father’s barn
I remember
Our long embrace
And I never dreamt
We would let go
Or that you would ever leave.
I was young then, and naïve
And the thoughts I cherished
The love I held within my chest
Seemed never able to decrease.
But time,
Time changes a person
And as I lay here in the fields
Lazily looking at the sky
I finally realize –
That perhaps you never
Felt the same.
Your scent still on my lips
And your embrace
Still engraved upon my hips
But no, it was you who walked away
And I know that I had loved
As I never have loved before
But still, I shall love again –
With such great passion
That poets shall fill with such distress
At the thought such beauty
Could possibly exist.
So lend me your ear,
Dear friend
For you – have been forgotten
Just as the fields of grasses
That soon shall fall weak and heavy
With the weight of winter’s kiss.
Soon –
spring shall blossom
And I shall never remember
How it felt to be held
In your embrace.

© Sumyanna 2016

6 Comments Add yours

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you sweet rose!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I can visualise several pre raphaelite paintings in that poem. The one that stands out most is of a rustic couple embracing beside a haystack. I should remember who painted it, but can’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      This one was based on a much older painting as well, not sure of the painter but it was lovely. It was of a young maiden laying on the grass near bales of hay, gazing up at the sky. The story just unfolded 🙂

      Like

      1. I think I know the painting, but I’ve forgotten almost everything I learnt about alost everything 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          It was extremely old fashioned and at the same time, utterly beautiful!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

