My Heart is Ready, a poem

Another attempt at writing a fourteen line poem.  Where my heart finds home…

 

IMG_2208

 

Above all the roar and din of the world,
Here is where you shall find me –
Counting the various paths of ladybugs across pine needle
Listening to the gentle whisper of breeze beneath shaking leaves
Delighting in the fragrant swirl of musty logs and dampened earth.
There is a silence that exists in my heart and no matter how hard I try to reach it,
It falters at the sight of passing cars, pedestrians, and busy crosswalks
Blaring signs of civilization prove too strong a passage for internal conversation
So I must wait in anticipation where my soul, once again, shall find its place
I find shelter among the silent forests and the wandering hillsides, where the world is lush and full of life
I find solace surrounded by the gentle roar of rivers meandering through the mountains
I find equal pleasure losing myself within the rush and roar of the open sea
They sing to me, a gentle melody – all that exists, upon the land and beneath her watery depths
Come sing to me – now, sing me a lullaby, for my heart is ready and the time is finally near.

© Sumyanna 2017

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Eclectic Joy says:

    I feel this too, beautiful the way you have captured this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you ever so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Perfect & lovely!❤️Anne

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much – so glad you liked them.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

