Around my Grateful Heart, a poem

Grateful

 

There are times I am held

amidst a field of flowers

hands raised to touch their petals

smelling in the scent of their gentle beauty

as birdsong fills the silent moments

and crickets sing their own harmonious tune.

I am held in reverie

half waking and half asleep.

I smell the scent of fuscia, chartruse, and cornflower blue

and I can see the curious shades of

lilac, jasmine, and summer rose.

Though my eyes are closed, my heart is open

and I find myself equally blessed.

In the long cold months of winter,

I linger there despite the icy tales she has to tell

I cannot feel her frigid fingers fumbling toward my heart

for I see and I smell

with all the freshness of the original encounter

right down to summer breezes touching upon my skin

I waver not, in my memory

for I hold it as close to my heart as I do my own name

forever etched, a part of me – essential to my very breaths.

It matters not what circumstances I find myself

amidst the hardness of rock and steel

surrounded by the harshness of winter

for their beauty lingers upon my skin

and beneath my very breath

I have never tarried far

for the beauty that I have always known

has found a way to wind itself

around my grateful heart.

 

© Sumyanna 2017

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. leigha66 says:

    Great writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much +Leigha!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        You’re welcome!

        Like

  2. A very good poem. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Henrietta!

      Like

  3. That was beautiful 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you sweet Rose!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

