The Development of My Voice, a poem

Voice

 

When I first spoke,

no one taught me how to speak

no one took my lips and moved them

to the beat of rhythmic tongue.

Instead, I tasted the scent of sunflowers

leaning toward the sun

and laid beneath their shadows

while the breeze gently whispered

a lyrical tune.

Instead, I feasted on the moving clouds

spread across the horizon

and as the breeze gently whispered,

I swayed and they swayed

to the rhythm of their poetic tongues.

I listened to the music

of birds and butterflies

their beating wings a metered chant

they sang and I sang too

and this is where I learned to see

where I learned to develop the sound

the tongue

the song.

None may ever understand the lyrics

none may ever understand the reasons why

they may look on with pained expressions,

but I am not done

I am not done

until I force these words

out of my very soul –

it is the nourishment I seek

it is the solace that I cherish

and as a bird must continue its life in song

I shall continue to sing.

 

© Sumyanna 2017

 

Gorgeous image courtesy of Pixabay.com

 

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Such a beautiful photograph and thought provoking works 🤔😊

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Rose – been thinking about this a lot. As someone who writes – it can be difficult. I’m sure it is the same as an artist. People are always trying to mold you into what they think you should be – instead of allowing you to be who you are. I write free verse poetry, and have for some time. I personally like the way my poetry writes itself and can imagine no other way to breathe. People may not see it as poetry, but it definitely is.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pete Hillman says:

    Amazing image, and beautiful poem, Sumyanna!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Pete!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

