Beautiful Being Me, a poem

Beautiful

 

I want to slowly ease
into dreams of sunshine
feel the warmth of its longing kiss
but even this, I miss
while too many shadows loom
chasing away the sunlight
stealing the afternoon glow.
My skin pales in comparison
while others’ cheeks
alight with olive skin,
but drought sometimes
is all that’s left
for dreamers like me.
I witness the slow crawl
of light upon the horizon
the equal crawl of darkness
upon the land
and soon, I know
I shall wish upon the stars
and dream.
It matters not,
that none believe
nor that sometimes,
stars cannot be seen
I need to learn to believe,
I am beautiful being me.

(c) Sumyanna 2017

11 Comments Add yours

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you for sharing!

      Like

  1. This is beautiful
    new blogger here 🙂
    Keep making poems ❤

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much 🙂

      Like

  2. Reblogged this on Covert Novelist and commented:
    Truly beautiful! Very apt description Sumyanna!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so much for sharing

      Like

  3. A beautiful poem, Sumyanna. I love the picture as well.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      The picture was beyond beautiful – I found it on Pixabay, but I felt it depicted the poem well. I wish my camera could take photos like that though – but I also don’t usually run into that many butterflies over here 😦

      Like

  4. Really like this one!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much. I think that many might feel the same way.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

