Portraits Poetry Series #63: Lost at Sea

on

In case you haven’t been here before, I love writing prompts – whether a list of words, one word, or even an image.  With these posts, I have written poems specifically about paintings and I hope, with my words, you see the scene just as visibly in your heart and mind as if you had seen the image itself.

 

Portraits Series

 

I have dreamt
of the kiss of moonlight
from morning
till the reach of day’s end
the shattered necklace of stars
that light my way home to you.
Let me step carefully,
in barefoot whisper
led by the light
of her beauty
let me trace
the memory of your smile
in her warm embrace.
Moonlight, I shall follow you
till the ends of the earth –
should I have to.
I shall trace his visage
through the silent pathways
of the endless shining stars.
But tread gently on my heart,
and may my trust in you
prove wise yet –
for I lost my way
at moonlight
long across a distant sea
and my heart does mourn
the man I cannot see.

(c) Sumyanna 2016

2 Comments Add yours

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

