Guiding Light, rhymed poetry

Quite a while ago, I mostly wrote only in rhymed poetry.  For me, I was a stickler for well-rhymed poems.  I could not enjoy forced rhyme.  So, if a rhyme did not work… instead of just using it as-is, I would have to work to make a new rhyme which often changed the original intent of the poem.  There’s beauty there for sure… I actually find this poem rather lovely.  The problem is, sometimes we outgrow our skin and have to shed our old ways to find new ways to share our beauty.

 

I guess the problem is – that when I write rhymed poetry (even for kids), I start to rhyme all the time in my head.  I cannot turn it off.  I even start to yell at the kids in rhyme (and know – that is not on purpose).  Yeah, they laugh at me when I do that.  Just think if Dr. Seuss had the same problem… how interesting life would have been for him 🙂  Also, I find it incredibly difficult to move from one form of poetry to another – if I rhyme… I stay in rhyme and if I don’t, rhyme does not come as easily.

 

Anyway – here is one of many rhymed poems I have written… just in case you wondered if I could do it 😉

 

lighthouse (2)

 

Come follow me

in the pale moonlight

when waters rage

above the sea

and waves shall crash

upon rocky shore

where the water’s fury

could bury thee.

 

Yet, hold my hand

I’ll lead the way

no, not because

I am upright,

for none endure

each breath of life

with faultless beauty

against the night.

 

But two together

and maybe more

shall find their way

upon these waves.

and though it seemed

that all was lost

they found each other

not watery graves.

 

So when in darkness,

share your light

you never know

where it may lead

no matter the waves

that rage below

outstretch your hand

to those in need.

 

© Sumyanna 2015

 

Just like the lighthouse, in the middle of a storm – guiding stray boats to safety, may we always find ways to share our light with others so they can find their way to wherever it is they need to be.

 

This poem was part of a collection of poems I put together to share my love of poetry with children (adults are also welcome!) on StoryBird.  For anyone who is interested in seeing it… here is the link:  Nature’s Beauty by Sumyanna

Beautiful image courtesy of Pixabay.com

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Hey! Loved this, would you check out https://tanyatale.wordpress.com/2017/08/25/poetry-with-deveaux-fraiser-cracked/
    This guy is a amazing poet and I’d love for you to see his work

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you for sharing!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. leigha66 says:

    Rhyming doesn’t come as easy to me as free verse, but I still enjoy writing it on occasion. I especially look to rhymes if I am thinking in terms of lyrics. This was a wonderful poem!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I do think it requires more work sometimes, but it is also work often to write a good free verse poem too 🙂 I guess one way of writing is perhaps more comfortable for us than others. I know what you mean about rhyme and lyrics. Way back I also wrote songs for my children. Thank you very much Leigha!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        You’re welcome as always.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. frankhubeny says:

    I find it easy to come up with rhyme words using a meter that ties the rhymes together. However, the content is what matters. The rhyme and meter serve the message. I agree with you that avoiding forced rhyme is an important way to serve the message of the poem.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      I know what you mean and I do agree – content matters. I have read some incredible rhymed poetry as well as incredible free verse. I think that both are wonderful ways to express oneself. Thank you Frank!

      Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No problem fellow poet!

        Like

  4. Lol, I remember when I used to think in rhyme all the time, even if I woke up in the night I was thinking in rhyme😳 great poem 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      See! I’m not alone then – phew! I really get to the point that I annoy myself 🙂 Thank you sweet Rose!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I had forgotten that I used to do that 😳 I’ve not done any poetry for a while now. 🌹

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Oh man – did I miss it? Have you shared it before? I’d love to see 🙂 I’m sure it was lovely.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I have a section on my main site under the heading poetry 😉

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Sumyanna says:

            Shall look it up then

            Liked by 1 person

  5. I hear you, Sumyanna. I mainly write poetry in rhyming verse as it often jumps into my head that way. Often almost fully formed. I also find it quite hard to change my style of writing poetry. This is gorgeous although I was concentrating so hard on your rhyming scheme I had to read it again to appreciate the words.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Robbie. I don’t mind rhyme in fact I love it for my children’s writing – but I struggle because I can’t easily switch between the two forms. I haven’t written another children’s verse in quite some time 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

