Above All the Noise, a poem

noise

 

 

I don’t know if I should have

seen it coming –

like a freight train

in perfect view,

racing toward my muddled form

and yet I still stand there,

frozen –

as if I have nowhere else to go.

My breaths reek

of my own impermanence

each one a stilted moment

crawling across the page

of my own history

is it now

is it now

is now – the end?

And somewhere along the way,

I lost my own significance

for though I’ve been warned,

it somehow fell

from my front pocket

tumbled down the stairs

to its own impending gloom

to some obscure place and time

where I shall never find it.

So I stop and listen

I breathe,

I breathe in deep –

and though this is my story,

I still am not finished

narrating this tale.

No matter where I go

or what I do

I shall spin the words,

even if all the world

suppresses sound.

I shall whisper,

so as not to wake

the silence

that has crept

upon the meandering hillside.

I shall whisper,

so that only those

who care to hear

shall hear me above all the noise.

 

© Sumyanna 2017

 

Fabulous image courtesy of Pixabay.com

 

 

 

 

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Beautiful poem. The idea that your own significance could fall from your pocket is sad but so powerful. Great read.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Yes, hopefully it truly is not that easy but sometimes I think we may feel that way. Thank you!

      Like

  2. That is exquisite, Sumyanna, OMG I loved this piece 🙂

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you sweet lady! So thrilled that you did 🙂

      Like

      1. I don’t know how many ppl have read it, but lots and all loved it.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Thank you again. I hope you see my other comment I posted today. I’ve been having trouble seeing your blog 😦 Have missed you.

          Like

          1. So glad we touched base. I’ve missed you

            Like

          2. Sumyanna says:

            You are not alone. I was worried I wouldn’t be able to get a hold of you! I hope that things get fixed soon for you. I have so much to read, I am almost scared! It is surprising to see how much you miss when you go away. I have people in my RSS feed and there are some with over 30 or 40 posts! Note to self: don’t go on vacation 🙂

            Like

          3. Lol. No GO ON vacation,! Just allocate a couple of coffee tea breaks a day in which to read lol.

            Liked by 1 person

          4. Sumyanna says:

            Trying to do so. These first days are more difficult… trying to get back into the swing of things. It’s not horrible… but then we have to rush and run errands before dinner. I’m also trying to exercise more often (so far I am doing good woohoo!) so the days are going fast. It will slow down though… at least, from previous experience…

            Like

          5. Indeed. We have a few more weeks 2 or so before school is in here as well. Then it’ll get crazy busy with bus schedules, dancing, horseback riding. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

          6. Sumyanna says:

            Enjoy those two weeks! I am glad we did. I’m already missing summer (and it has only been one week) but it made a huge difference.

            Like

          7. Isn’t that wonderful? Rejuvenation at its best.

            Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh how lovely, Sumyanna. It is wonderful if others can her you above the “noise” and appreciate what you say.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Robbie.

      Like

  4. I can hear you! This is lovely!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you every so much 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

