Finding the Courage to Shine, a poem

Shine

 

Silent star,

it is as if I understand

your wistful conversation.

I hear the yearning

in the accented syllables

of your speech,

The verbs with which

you shape your sentences

in the trill of your r’s,

in your redolent display

much like a jewel

in the darkened sky –

you are a beacon

leading me home.

I have memorized

the lyrics of your passage

and your vocabulary hums

beneath my chest.

All too soon,

you shall fade again

but I shall be waiting.

You are a promise kept

and as I witness

your nimble dance,

I finally understand

that just as your silence

speaks to my soul,

I must seek to find

the shine within my own heart

and the beauty of my purpose.

May I find within myself

the bravery and confidence

to share my radiance

with those that pass me by.

 

© Sumyanna 2017

 

Beautiful image courtesy of stocksnap.io

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Reading this poem, I found myself breathing more calmly and deeply. I think that says a lot for it. Beautiful!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad you felt that way. It does the same for me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the ending of this poem, Sumyanna. Everyone needs to find their radiance and shine.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Robbie. I completely agree.

      Like

Leave a Reply

