I Need to Feel Weightless, a poem

weightless

 

The wind

whisks me away

in a precarious dance

and I accept

robes flowing

ripple in the wind

and my arms

are open wide.

I need to feel

weightless

where the sorrows

of the world

won’t come

crashing down

where the rush

of waves

fill my

tranquil heart

with song

and I can find

my smile again

while dancing

in the rain.

 

(c) Sumyanna 2016

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Pixabay.com

25 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve come back to read this incredible poem several times now. I love it as much now as the first time I read it. XOXO

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Oh thank you Phyllis 🙂 I hope all is well with you. Have missed you bunches. So glad you liked it.

      Like

      1. I’ve missed you too, but the upside is I know you are having a great time.

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          Now we must march back to work umm… school. It’s okay though. It was a great chance to breathe before getting busy again. Hoping to do more hiking over the cooler fall months. It’s been raining a lot here lately.

          Like

          1. We’ve had heat lots of it 30 c fires galore. Arsonist set two near us. They were put out quickly as someone saw him. Lots of smoke in the air from Vancouver so haven’t been outside for days. It’s better tonight.

            Like

          2. Sumyanna says:

            Sorry to hear about the fires. We get that a lot here as well. Sometimes they are started by lightening and other times by careless people. I hate when the sky is covered with haze and you can’t help but smell the burning in the air. Fortunately, we are far away (often) from where the fires start because we are in the prairie. We don’t have much to burn out here 🙂 It is hard on those who have breathing problems and isn’t rather pleasant for those that don’t. Hope it clears soon!

            Like

          3. Thanks. We had a smattering of rain but the more affected areas still have problems. I know what that’s like ha I g lived through a fire.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. feifei says:

    Such a pretty poem.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much!

      Like

  3. How intensely beautiful! Absolutely exquisite!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Phyllis! So glad you liked it 🙂

      Like

  4. Reblogged this on Covert Novelist and commented:
    Exquisite!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much for sharing!

      Like

      1. Ppl still checking it out. It’s one of the most beautiful pieces you’ve written and I’ve ever read. Wished I had your style

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          So sweet… thank you! I don’t know. I think at that moment I wrote it to soothe my own heart. Sometimes I do that 🙂 As for my style… I don’t even know where it came from. I started around three years ago writing rhyming poetry and somehow things evolved into what I write today. I sometimes swear that the poems write themselves 🙂

          Like

          1. I know, Right? I find that happens a lot. Not lately for me. My frustration level is a little high to write something memorable

            Like

          2. Sumyanna says:

            Sorry to hear things are frustrating you… is it because of your blog not working? I have so missed reading. I mean, I could read but then I wonder why I should because if I can’t let you know how much I like it… something would be missing. I hope things do improve for you soon.

            Like

  5. leigha66 says:

    Love this… great imagery!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much Leigha! So glad to see you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        You’re welcome! Glad you’re back!

        Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much. It is one of my new favorites 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Your welcome my fellow poet, and I can see why

        Liked by 1 person

  6. This is definitely one of my favourites, Sumyanna. I am keeping this to read when I feel like I need a boost. Terrific.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Robbie. Yes, it is actually one of my favorites as well. A boost, just when you need one 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

