Photography: Seeking Solace in Summer Gardens (Post #1)

Well, we are finally back.  Truth be told… we’ve been back for a week but somehow I could not manage the desire to post.  Somehow, I still needed to dwell in the silence of summer.  I guess school with the kids takes a lot out of me.  To find myself having thoughts again (said with a sly smile) is something I have cherished.

 

We enjoyed our trip these past two weeks.  We spent our time in Snowmass, Colorado and hiked each and every day, ate our meals and then returned to a path to exercise away dinner 🙂  I can’t imagine what I’d do with myself if I could do that all the time… but I guess that is why it is called a vacation.  On our trip I got to use my camera all too often (I was driving my husband crazy) and my daughter even shared some awesome tips that she learned in her photography class.  In essence, I learned how to handle the camera better and I look forward to learning more.

 

The sad thing is… as I have now “become one” with my camera… she died.  I think she has shutter problems as my last few pictures had a dark shadow on them.  We have not had a chance to fix her yet because school starts Monday and we’ve been rushing to get everything ready for school.  The computers need to be fixed, we’ve been making last minute fix-ups to things we took apart when we installed the wood floors, and two of our computers died on us as well (one only requiring a new battery but the other requiring a new computer with installation, remembering what programs need to be installed, etc.).  It can be a lot of work!

 

So I guess I have taken for granted that I have grown some since getting my DSLR camera.  I started out using a “smartphone” as my sole camera and fortunate I have never had to use a point and shoot.  So when my camera died… I was heartbroken because I had already promised the kids I would take them to the gardens before school.  At first, I tried to use my old smartphone (not as a phone, but solely as a camera).  I could not figure out how to make the images come out right.  Again… heartbroken.  The kids came to my rescue and allowed everyone to exchange camera so I could use my oldest child’s point and shoot.

 

Point and shoot cameras… taken with the right hands, can seriously take beautiful photographs.  The photos I am sharing today were taken with that camera.  Problem is… it comes at a price.  I so hate the loss of control!  So many pictures were imagined beautifully in my mind and it was never translated to the photograph.  The camera took charge and I was lucky if they turned out all right.  Of course, my daughter loves her camera and takes fabulous photos with it.  It does come at a price.  If the wind blows… no focus.  If you want to focus on something but the camera wants to focus on something else… good luck.  I still find beauty in many of the images, but I surely miss my camera.  Hopefully in a week or so when things will settle down we can focus on that.

 

So one thing I want to say is that I have surely missed all of you.  I am thankful for the time away though, as it has given me a lot of time to think, readjust priorities, and set further goals.  As a homeschool mom of four, things can get rather busy, quick.  So it is a good thing to take the time to plan and the rest of the way pray for the best.  I guess we all need a reboot sometimes and when we actually get away from the house (while I am still busy) I actually can sneak in moments to think 🙂

 

I will be sharing photos from the trip, but decided to start my posts with photos of our recent trip to the gardens.  They were taken with my daughter’s point and shoot camera, so you may notice some differences in the way my photos look.  Either way, I just wanted to capture the beauty of the flowers they have there in the hopes that both of us may enjoy them.  If I succeed in that, then I am grateful.

 

8 (2)

 

 

 

1 (2)

 

2 (2)

 

3 (2)

 

4 (2)

 

5 (2)

 

6 (2)

 

7 (2)

23 Comments Add yours

  1. Wonderful macro Sumyanna!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much for sharing!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. moorezart says:

        Hello there – you are most graciously welcome!

        Like

  2. Reblogged this on Covert Novelist and commented:
    Exquisite!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Oh, so glad you liked it! It is hard to go back to using a smartphone, but the flowers were too lovely to keep them unnoticed 🙂

      Like

      1. I was completely impressed. I think much has to do with the eye of the one behind the camera. And you do have an eye!

        Like

  3. Reblogged this on ravenhawks' magazine and commented:
    Thanks for sharing, these are beautiful!

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      So glad you liked them! Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. leigha66 says:

    Welcome back Sumyanna! Glad to see your posts again. Wonderful photos, especially for a point and shoot camera. Don’t let the stress of back to school get to you… seems like that was a short summer break. Once again, glad you are back. 🙂

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Leigha! Even when a camera has its limitations, you can always find some thing it captures well. I so needed a camera and I was thankful she allowed me to use hers 🙂 Oh, to go to the gardens without a camera! School will hopefully not be stressful. We are trying to manage our time a little better, fit in more things that are beneficial for us like exercise and getting out to breathe fresh air. It’s a lot of expectations looming but I think things will turn out better than we hope 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. leigha66 says:

        You’re welcome! My hat is off to you for doing the home schooling. I watched an Aunt home school her one step daughter and it was hard, it is hard to imagine more than one at a time!

        Like

        1. Sumyanna says:

          I can absolutely promise you it is not easy… it is not easy… it is not easy. However, just as difficult as it is… it is incredibly rewarding. I absolutely love being the one to help them believe in themselves and also having the opportunity to help them learn that everything, every single moment is a teachable one. There is always something to learn and knowledge is never attained. It is a gift that I don’t take lightly, even when it does tire me sometimes. Fortunately, there are more opportunities to homeschool now than in the past and I’m sure it will improve. There are a lot of benefits that we have found doing it.

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you! I could have stayed forever (it was so beautiful) but one must always return home sometime 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No problem and yeah I can understand that

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much 🙂

      Like

  5. Henrietta Watson says:

    Reblogged this on Blog Pad 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Henrietta Watson says:

        You are welcome!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

