That I May Touch, a poem

Kites (2)

 

I am not the silken kite strings
romanced by the weight of a morning breeze
tattered at the edges, but beautiful still
they waver in the wind
they bow, they dive, and dance
and the weight of their sorrows
are lifted.
Higher, higher, higher in the sky they rise
almost as if they can touch the luminous edge of clouds
and they balance there, for a moment
where the dance continues
they bow, they dive, and they swirl across the open sea of sky
and you can almost see the rippled edges where they touch.
I stand below, watching intently
hands held out –
in hopes that I may somehow touch too.

(c) Sumyanna 2017

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Pixabay.com

 

12 Comments Add yours

      1. your welcome fellow poet!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you so very much for sharing!

      Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you very much Leigha!

      Like

  1. This is so pretty, Sumyanna. I can imagine this scene.

    Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you Robbie. I was almost reluctant to share a picture for this one because I wrote the poem just out of my thoughts. I imagined it an old fashioned Chinese kite with silken strings. This is my first (or perhaps second) poem this summer since returning from vacation. I was seriously worried I might not be able to get back to writing, so I was overjoyed when the words came 🙂

      Like

    1. Sumyanna says:

      Thank you for sharing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

