Photography & a Poem: Seeking the Tune of My Own Song

More often than not, I can find a story behind the images I take, even though I rarely write them.  In the future, perhaps I will write them… when I long for the muse to sing.  I never really know why I love photography or the art of storytelling, but I know that no matter where I am, or what I am looking at, my mind is always busy unraveling her tales.

 

Perhaps that is why I love photography, but then the question is… did I raise the camera to take a picture because a story was found, or did I do so to bring something home with me that I can turn from side to side and weave the story later from what I see.    Either way, the photographs I decided to share with you today eased words into my heart and I had to write them.  I think, often, when I come from a very personal space, you can feel me more honestly in the words.  At least, I guess, I can always hope that is true.

 

May you enjoy the images and the words I have set in place.  They are my gift to you on this blustery cold day in hopes to warm myself as well as any passengers that may make their way here.

 

Seeking the Tune of My Own Song

 

Sometimes,

there is a silence

that needs to be reawakened,

a flickering moment

of contemplation,

among the ethers’ grasp.

You hear it

in the sound

the wind makes, blowing

through leaning grasses.

There is a rustle

and sometimes,

a powerful roar

and grasses,

bend over, flailing

while leaves take flight –

but the wind

seems to blow

a gentleness

across your soul.

Other moments,

you hear it

in the song of crickets,

the melody of grasshoppers

rubbing hind legs

in search of a

companion’s song

you hear it –

in the continuous beat

of hummingbird wings

or in the scuttle

of retreating rabbit

and the rising cry

of a hawk in flight

in search of prey.

Here, among the silence

I listen to my breaths,

I breathe the scent

of nature’s kiss,

and I realize

I have always been

a whisper

upon the landscape,

seeking the tune

of my own song,

and hoping

for the maturity

to sing.

 

© Sumyanna 2017

 

DSCN5759 (2)

 

DSCN5788 (2)

 

DSCN5826 (2)

 

DSCN5978 (2)

 

IMG_4271 (2)

 

IMG_4282 (2)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

