Portraits Poetry Series #69: When Finally Noticed

In case you haven’t been here before, I love writing prompts – whether a list of words, one word, or even an image.  With these posts, I have written poems specifically about paintings and I hope, with my words, you see the scene just as visibly in your heart and mind as if you had seen the image itself.

Portraits Series
Stuck in a wasteland
Of rolling wave
Sand between my toes
Here,
Even the gulls are silent.
I can almost hear
The clouds slow crawl
The itch
The scratch
Of impermanence
The whole-hearted
Rushing in
And the sudden
Feeling of emptiness
As it all pulls away.
Shielding myself
From the
Peeking rays of sun,
I am swept away
By the shadows’ dance
Across the tide pools
The quivering,
Unrelenting
Surge of life
Momentarily trapped
Between wave and land
And I am here –
To witness it
To revel
In its beauty.
I wonder to myself,
Has it known sleep
Or has life always lived here
Beneath my feet
Moved and moving
The flow which I
Have barely noticed
In earlier days.
Has its beauty
Always remained unsung
Until this moment
When finally noticed?
Far away in the distance
A graying skyline
Chases
The last vestiges
Of blue sky,
Threatening rain
And I await the feeling
Of cool drops on my cheek
So gloriously felt
But also unnoticed
As a child has often
Desired
To feel the rain
Yet go about their day
Captivated by everything
To the point of fascination.

© Sumyanna 2016

Leave a Reply

