Poems for Artists · Poems for Writers · Poetry · Thoughtful Poems

Unspoken Whispers

unspoken

 

There are moments
in life
when each breath
becomes difficult,
labored –
a painful exhale of emotion
and the roaring tide of tears
that never reach the eyes
but they rush through the soul
a tidal wave crashing
from the inside
over-spilling
and all you can do
is smile.
Life seems to carry on
and people carry on with it
tomorrow many will already forget
the newspaper headlines
and I know not why
I know not why
but sometimes,
it tears me up inside
for I am always the one
looking at everything
with a sideways glance
and delving at the soul
of everything
inspecting the pieces
and asking why,
and I know –
I know
that things could be better
but when you race against the tide –
you get knocked to your feet
for no matter how much
you strive to build peace
they always tear it down
from both sides.
That is where you hide,
in your sideways glances
wishing, hoping, praying
for them to see
there is a better way
to live than this.
This is where you hold your pain
in unspoken whispers
that dance across the page
and some days,
it seems
it is never enough
it is never enough.

(c) Sumyanna 2016

 

Beautiful image courtesy of Pixabay.com

2 thoughts on “Unspoken Whispers

    1. For me, life is a balance. To know and to cherish the good times, we sometimes have to know sadness. I usually write happier themes, but sometimes a bad mood can startle up some good poetry too 🙂 Nice thing is, you can feel through the words and often let go of the feeling.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment